Favorite Nail Polishes for Summer 2020

In celebration of Pride Month & the beginning of summer in earnest, I’ve decided to share my favorite nail polishes that I have been and will be wearing this summer! Please consider donating to the Trevor Project or a charity of your choice in support of LGBTQ lives if you can 🙂

As you can tell, I really love neon creme polishes! I picked 13 polishes – 11 creme, 1 holographic, and 1 with matte glitters. We have some indie brands and mainstream too!

Deco Miami Coco, China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy, ILNP Citrus Punch, China Glaze Japanese Koi
  1. Deco Miami Coco – classic pure white creme. This formula can get a bit thick sometimes and I’ve had to add thinner, but it covers very well. The bottle shape makes it kind of a pain to coat the brush properly, but it’s easily doable. I did 2 coats to help even out the first, but you could definitely get away with 1 coat if you have short nails
  2. China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy – neon coral creme. This is a super bright fun color that I love to wear on my toes especially! This has that matte neon formula, so you have to work fast. Still this was 2 pretty easy coats
  3. ILNP Citrus Punch – coral holographic with gold shimmer. This has that gorgeous squishy ILNP formula, so you’ll need 3 coats but they’re super easy! The holographic shimmer really shines, even in indoor light.
  4. China Glaze Japanese Koi – neon orange creme. This is hurt-your-eyes insanely neon! I need to use a white base with this one (I used Coco in this swatch), but it’s only 2 coats on top of that. This again has that matte neon formula, so work even faster than with flip flop fantasy!
Deco Miami Tequila Sunrise, OPI Sun, Sea & Sand in My Pants, Cirque Colors Electric Daisy, Cirque Colors Miami Dade
  1. Deco Miami Tequila Sunrise – primary yellow creme. Same issues with the bottle here, but damn if it isn’t a gorgeous bottle! This will take you 2- coats depending on how long your nails are (I did 3).
  2. OPI Sun, Sea, & Sand in My Pants – egg yolk yellow creme. Stunning OPI formula as always in this beautiful, rich summer yellow. Easy-peasy application in 2 coats
  3. Cirque Colors Electric Daisy – neon chartreuse creme. This is the quintessential highlighter yellow neon creme that you’ve always been looking for. Cirque does neon polishes better than just about anyone, so you’ve actually got an easy 2 coat application that doesn’t even dry matte!
  4. Cirque Colors Miami Dade – neon cyan blue creme. I had to include this one as homage back to the 305! Another gorgeous Cirque neon polish with 2 easy coats.
Kathleen & Co Swirly Twirly Taffy, Julie G Cabana Boy, Eternal Cosmetics Crazy Violet, Julie G Fierce & Fab
  1. Kathleen & Co Swirly Twirly Taffy – neon turquoise crelly with neon pink hex glitters in various sizes. This one is so fun!! I’ve never had a crelly polish with matte glitters before, but I’m glad this is my first! This is a crelly formula that dries semi-matte, and I needed 3 coats to completely cover my nail line, but it was worth it. This has a nice wide brush as well.
  2. Julie G Cabana Cabana Boy – cobalt blue creme. This is a classic shade that I think you should definitely have in your collection if you like to wear blue! 2 easy coats, but the brush is very skinny so it can be a little annoying.
  3. Eternal Cosmetics Crazy Violet – neon purple creme. This was surprisingly very easy to work with and opaque in 2 coats! It self-leveled beautifully, especially for such an affordable polish.
  4. Julie G Fierce & Fab – magenta purple creme. Either this dries darker than in the bottle, or it has changed colors on me. It used to be more neon, but it’s still gorgeous either way! 2 easy coats.

All polishes have a Gelish gel base + Seche Vite topcoat. I bought everything here except the Deco Miami polishes that I won in a giveaway.

What are your favorite polishes to wear in the summer?

Leave a comment